Christmas markets in Cologne & Aachen

DSC07245DSC07133DSC07144DSC07151DSC07187DSC07190DSC07201DSC07203DSC07206DSC07276DSC07236DSC07258

Christmas markets are one of my favourite things this time of the year. I had heard nice things about the Christmas markets in Cologne and Aachen, and since my in-laws were here last weekend we decided to go for a road trip.

In Cologne we started with the smaller market “Markt der Engel” on Neumarkt. A perfectly nice Christmas market, but we quickly forgot about it after seeing the bigger market at “Heimat der Heinzel” on Heumarkt . It was just spectacular! Especially in the evening when all the lights were on. We wandered around the small booths, tried some mulled wine and admired the Christmas decorations and the ice skating rink. It wasn’t too crowded despite it being a Friday evening.

We rented an apartment through Airbnb and it might have been the coldest place I’ve spent the night in. Including a tent in the middle of the forest in Finland. In February. Good thing I had packed my pyjama and cashmere bed socks. Yes, I get cold easily despite being used to cold winters.

We had decided to stop in Aachen on our way back to Brussels. We started with a big breakfast at Bagels & Beans (I love their gluten free bagels!) before exploring the old town and its Christmas market. Aachen was just as festively decorated as Cologne, but it was simply too many people. Once we tried to cross the market aisle, but it was impossible. What we did instead? Oh, I spent a lovely afternoon with my mother-in-law, picking out Christmas tree decorations at Galeria Kaufhof, shopping and having coffee while the fiancé and my father-in-law visited Centre Charlemagne. Perfect planning.

DSC07269DSC07284DSC07288

Leave a Reply

