Creamy hazelnut milk

Milk1

I prefer making my own nut milk. If you have a look at the store-bought nut milks they usually contain added sugar and lots of unnecessary ingredients. My homemade nut milks are so easy to make and I like that I can control the amount of sweetness and experiment with different spices. Vanilla and almond milk is a favourite as is cashew milk with cinnamon and cardamom.

I always soak the nuts overnight. This way the nuts become easier to mix and digest. This time I prepared nut milk from hazelnuts and the recipe gave me two 500 ml bottles and a small glass of milk.

After making homemade nut milk, you’re going to be left with perfectly good nut pulp. It can be added to granola, oatmeal, hummus, smoothies, cookie or muffin batter and crackers. You can also spread it out on a baking sheet and bake it at a low temperature until completely dry (2-3 hours). The dry nut meal can be kept frozen for several months!

Ingredients: 

  • 3 dl hazelnuts*
  • 1 liter water
  • 1/2 tbsp coconut sugar, 2-3 fresh dates or 1/2 tbsp honey
  • cinnamon
  • vanilla
  • cardamom
  • sea salt
  • nut milk bag**

Instructions:

  1. Soak the nuts in water for at least 6 hours, preferably overnight.
  2. Rinse and drain the nuts, pop them in your blender and add fresh water.
  3. I add a bit of coconut sugar, but fresh dates or honey works too.
  4. Add cinnamon, vanilla and/or cardamom and sea salt. Mix together.
  5. Place the nut milk bag over a bowl and pour the mixture into the bag.
  6. Press all the nut milk from the pulp and pour the milk into glass bottles or jars.
  7. Store in fridge for 2-3 days. Shake bottle/jar well before using as the milk separates when sitting.

Enjoy!

* You can replace hazelnuts with cashews, almonds or other nuts. Or why not try a combination? I love nut milk made of cashews and pistachios!

** I bought my nut milk bag/sprout bag from my local health food shop, but you can also order one from here. A cheese cloth or a mesh sieve works too and I’ve even heard of pantyhose being used instead of nut milk bags…

Leave a Reply

