Douniazad Spa

douniazad pic

I’ve been hearing about the Douniazad Spa in Schaerbeek for some time and I was excited to check it out. Besides a hammam the spa offers face, hair, and body treatments.

When entering the beautiful changing room I got a locker, towels, sandals and a bowl to keep shampoo and other items in. In the hammam you’re asked to wear your bikini bottoms or underwear on, and cover yourself with a colorful checked cloth.

I had chosen Le Princier Couronné and was welcomed by a staff member in the treatment room. She started by soaking me with warm water and lathered me with black soap. Covered in soap I was then shown to the beautiful steam room. The air in the room is 100 % moist which helps to eliminate toxins and relax the body. After a while it was time for the exfoliation. I was instructed to lie on a hammam stone table and the lady scrubbed every last millimeter of my skin with a rough mitt.

After having had hot water poured over me from a bucket I had a foam massage and rhassoul clay with argan oil was applied. The clay is intended to regenerate the skin by removing dead skin cells, soften the skin and rebalance it by tightening the pores. I could have returned to the steam room after this, but since I had booked a facial, I headed for the treatment rooms upstairs.

I had picked the Face Care Pure Pleasure and the facial consisted of a cleansing session, exfoliation followed by a masque that suited my skin type and a facial massage. Apparently I was very relaxed after the hammam since I fell asleep and woke up to a skin that felt brightened, super soft and refreshed.

To finish off this nice stay I was invited to the relaxation area for some mint tea and dates. All in all a wonderful afternoon and I’ll definitely go back there again.

Douniazad Spa
Chaussée de Haecht 528
1030 Schaerbeek (Brussels)
tel. +32 (0)22162799
e-mail: douniazadspa@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

